MiDAS Spotlight: Kalli Melilli

UF Digital Worlds Institute
3 min readAug 22, 2022
Kalli Melilli — 3D Modeler

Written by: Ryan Helterhoff (MAMC ‘23)

Undergraduate degree: Digital Arts & Sciences

Favorite Quote: “If it makes you happy, then why does it matter?”

What brought you to the MiDAS program?

My friend Emily Husak, who was in the MiDAS program last year. She is someone who I regard as a dear friend and mentor who helped me when I first started out on the BADAS path. She told me a lot about the program while she was in it, and I also got to meet all the other MiDAS students at Convergence this year. They all told me how much they enjoyed the program and believed in its value.

What was your lightbulb moment that took you down this career path?

The original moment I realized I genuinely loved my major was in my first class with Ms. Cantrell because of her energy, drive, and love of what she was doing. My second was in my first 3D class with Mr. Karlson as I learned how much I enjoy creating 3D art, and then numerous times again as I created signs for my friends. I would point out to my friends where they saw animation and digital art in their everyday lives until, eventually, they would do it back to me by sending me examples or saying, “That’s so cool, this is what you’re going to be working on?”

What interactive experience are you looking forward to creating in the near future?

I have a few ideas for my capstone project that are already stored away in my notes, but I’m not sure which of them I want to make the most. I’m very excited to create and rig a creature for Professor Hyuk’s class in the fall. I have been contemplating a VR fantasy-themed zoo where players could experience and interact with different fantasy creatures. I’d really enjoy creating other 3D models of legendary monsters and then getting to paint and rig them.

What’s something most people don’t know about you?

I have a deep love of psychology after having the best psych teacher in high school and would love to create human behavioral tests using VR experiments.

Where do you see yourself in five years? Ten?

I plan to work at a smaller company as a 3D modeler or effects artist in a city. I would prioritize a happy and welcoming work environment over a job that offers more pay as I want to continue to enjoy what I create and be around people motivated by passion.

Favorite place you’ve visited?

My favorite place I’ve visited is Madrid, Spain. Specifically, a beautiful, bustling glass market called Mercado San Miguel. I got to go there with my best friends during my senior year of high school, along with a group of students from my hometown on a school trip organized by my favorite psych teacher.

--

--

UF Digital Worlds Institute

News, stories, and updates from the Digital Worlds community at the University of Florida.