Alumni Spotlight — Matt Ebling

UF Digital Worlds Institute
2 min readApr 15, 2021

--

Matt Ebling, MADAS 2018, is currently a Video Editor at Grammarly. He is a motion graphic artist with experience in animation and design. Matt has also previously worked as a UI designer, marketing artist, and in freelance digital work.

In what ways did your Digital Arts and Sciences experience prepare you for your career?

DW did not specifically prepare me for my current career, but it did help me get introduced to it. DW had me do lots of intro courses to several different topics, so that helps specify your interests.

What do you like about your current career?

One of my favorite aspects of motion design is how it utilizes skills in editing, illustration, and animation. My current job requires some pipeline development, which is very engaging because it requires thinking about new methods and solving lots of problems to create videos and animations within a team.

What are some of your favorite memories from when you were in the program?

I was introduced to an internship through DW that led me to live in the Bay Area, so that’s high on the list.

What advice would you give to current students?

Find professionals in the field you want to work in, and study their portfolios in order to understand how to build your own.

--

--

UF Digital Worlds Institute

News, stories, and updates from the Digital Worlds community at the University of Florida.